Nine Birds Singing by Edythe Anstey Hanen

Nine Birds Singing


Have dreams. Must travel. The magnetic words that her lover Joey sticks to a refrigerator door propel Maddie into a journey to recapture her independence and finally free herself from the abusive fanaticism of her past. Profound friendships vie with skewed love and loss to fuel Maddie’s search for redemption in this powerfully-written debut novel. From Vancouver in the 1960s to present day Mexico, and a small island off the Pacific west coast, Nine Birds Singing takes the reader on a compelling odyssey of self-discovery.

 

Words: their veiled truths, their unexpected revelations, their sly power. The role of words in the lives of the characters in Nine Birds Singing is the thread that connects and carried them to their ultimate destiny: ruination, renewal, and finally acceptance.

Maddie is a writer of local history who wants to use her words to unlock the hidden truths that lay just below the surface of her life. But it’s magnetic words on a refrigerator door – Have dreams. Must travel – that push Maddie into the journey she must take: the search for what she has yearned for all her life: independence and freedom from the abusive fanaticism of her parents’ religious beliefs. The novel weaves through past glories and youthful hubris in a search for understanding and acceptance.

 

Joey uses words both to define himself and redefine himself, but his words do not always encompass the whole truth.

 

Thea collects words. She doesn’t ever want to be caught without words and she rarely is. The secret that Thea carries to her ultimate end, leads Maddie finally to her own place of acceptance

 

Carmelita’s words are spare and carefully chosen. She becomes the container for all the stories, the witness, the listener, until she allows words to finally open her heart again.

Kindle Edition: Check Amazon for Pricing Digital Only

Baghdad by Ahmad Ardalan

Baghdad: The Final Gathering


“Wars, an embargo, and forbidden love in this once peaceful city…”

With the drums of war just weeks away, Omar invites all those closest to his heart for lunch at his lavish villa overlooking the Tigris River of Baghdad. He can’t help but smile at the faces that have graced his eventful life that spans from an interesting childhood, the two Gulf Wars, and the inhumane embargo that crippled the nation. Loved ones come together, probably for the last time, in the city their ancestors called Baghdad or Baghdadu, “God’s Gift.”
Memories upon memories linger in Omar’s head. He has survived times of struggle, holding on to hope and love along the way. As he reflects on his journey, as a man destined to live a hard life in tumultuous times, he ponders a clouded future, on the brink of unknown change.

Kindle Edition: Check Amazon for Pricing Digital Only

The Reluctant Hero by Jackie Weger

The Reluctant Hero


There are a few things Parnell Stillman is dead certain he will never do:
He’d never fall in love.
He’d never have kids.
He’d never be a hero.
His first and only love is flying.The struggle to keep his air cargo business solvent is challenge enough. Rebecca Hollis believes caring for others is the road to happiness. Tasked to shepherd five orphans on a flight to a conclave to meet prospective adoptive parents, she learns it takes much more. The plane is caught helpless in the grip of a storm that sends it plunging into a frozen wilderness. Rebecca determines she and the disagreeable pilot must work together to insure the survival and rescue of the orphans. Parnell Stillman has other ideas. So do the orphans. Rescue means a return to foster homes and an uncaring welfare system. Or maybe not.
Kindle Edition: Check Amazon for Pricing Digital Only

The Things We Leave Behind by Tanya Anne Crosby

The Things We Leave Behind


Zoe Rutherford has come to the end of her rope. Her relationship with Chris has reached the breaking point and it is time to leave. But can she leave? And if she does, what is she willing to leave behind?

This stunning short story, the prequel to Tanya Anne Crosby’s remarkable new novel, THE GIRL WHO STAYED, is tense, poignant, and deeply satisfying – exactly what readers have come to expect from this New York Times bestselling author.

Kindle Edition: Check Amazon for Pricing Digital Only

Truth or Beard by Penny Reid

Truth or Beard (Winston Brothers Book 1)


USA TODAY BESTSELLER
Beards, brothers, and bikers! Oh my!
Identical twins Beau and Duane Winston might share the same devastatingly handsome face, but where Beau is outgoing and sociable, Duane is broody and reserved. This is why perpetually level-headed Jessica James has been in naïve and unhealthy infatuation with Beau Winston for most of her life. Whereas Duane and Jessica have always been adversaries. She can’t stand him, and she’s pretty sure he can’t stand the sight of her…
But after a case of mistaken identity, Jessica finds herself in a massive confusion kerfuffle. Jessica James has spent her whole life paralyzed by the fantasy of Beau and her assumptions of Duane’s disdain; therefore she’s unprepared for the reality that is Duane’s insatiable interest, as well as his hot hands and hot mouth and hotter looks.
When Jessica finds herself drawn to the man who was always her adversary, how much of her level-head heart is she willing to risk?

Truth or Beard is book #1 in the Winston Brother’s series. Each book is a standalone, full length (110k words), contemporary romantic comedy novel, and follows the romantic exploits and adventures of one of the six Winston Brothers.

Kindle Edition: Check Amazon for Pricing Digital Only

The Genesis Conspiracy by James D. Prescott

The Genesis Conspiracy


Deep beneath the ocean lies the secret of human origins.
A discovery with the power to change history.
Or wipe us from the earth.

For over a decade, archaeologist Dr. Martin Anders has searched in vain for proof of the fabled continent of Atlantis. After raising a puzzling artifact from the ocean floor, Anders gets more than he bargained for. It is a piece of modern technology thousands of years old.

To unlock its origins, Anders and a small team of scientists and Ex-Special Forces will travel to a distant land shrouded in mystery and surrounded by creatures long extinct.

But they aren’t alone. An ancient order is close behind. And they’re determined to hide a secret they believe man was never meant to know.

The stakes for the human race couldn’t be higher. What awaits could answer one of humanity’s oldest questions, or lead to its extinction.

A fast-paced archaeological thriller that will make you question everything you think you know. For fans of James Rollins, A.G. Riddle and Preston & Child.

Background

12,000 years ago, the human race underwent a dramatic and inexplicable shift. Seemingly overnight, our species transitioned from nomadic hunter-gatherers to sedentary farmers and before long, to the architects of modern civilization. It’s a mystery that has left scientists utterly bewildered.

Until now…

Kindle Edition: Check Amazon for Pricing Digital Only

In a Cottage In a Wood by Cass Green

In a Cottage In a Wood: The gripping new psychological thriller from the bestselling author of The Woman Next Door


Her dream home will become her worst nightmare…

A Sunday Times top ten bestseller. This is the dark and twisty psychological thriller from the No.1 ebook bestselling author of The Woman Next Door.

A strange encounter
Neve comes across a troubled woman called Isabelle on Waterloo Bridge late one night. Isabelle forces a parcel into Neve’s hands and jumps to her death in the icy Thames below.

An unexpected gift
Two weeks later, as Neve’s wreck of a life in London collapses, an unexpected lifeline falls into her lap – a charming cottage in Cornwall left to her by Isabelle, the woman on the bridge. The solution to all her problems.

A twisted secret
But when Neve arrives, alone in the dark woods late one night, she finds a sinister-looking bungalow with bars across its windows. And her dream home quickly becomes her worst nightmare – a house hiding a twisted secret that will change her life forever…

Kindle Edition: Check Amazon for Pricing Digital Only

Metarules of the S.M.F. by Paul John Adams

Metarules of the S.M.F.


Metarules of the S•M•F is a novel concerned with how culture is born at the level of the streets. It is the next, necessary development in intelligent literary fiction on an urban theme.

Mala and Cloud are organizing a set of smart, strong, determined young black men to carve out a territory and protect their neighborhood. They live by a code that unites them, and the rivals that confront them only fortify their resolve. The S•M•F brothers are ready to live together, bleed together, and die together in the streets, to make their mark and live their lives their way.

Kindle Edition: Check Amazon for Pricing Digital Only

Saving Noah by Lucinda Berry

Saving Noah


We forgive murderers, not pedophiles.

Not since Lionel Shriver brought us We Need to Talk About Kevin has a writer delved into the complexities of a disturbed mother/son relationship. Until now.

Meet Noah—an A-honor roll student, award-winning swimmer, and small-town star destined for greatness. There weren’t any signs that something was wrong until the day he confesses to molesting little girls during swim team practice. He’s sentenced to eighteen months in a juvenile sexual rehabilitation center.

His mother, Adrianne, refuses to turn her back on him despite his horrific crimes, but her husband won’t allow Noah back into their home. In a series of shocking and shattering revelations, Adrianne is forced to make the hardest decision of her life. Just how far will she go to protect her son?

Saving Noah challenges everything you think you know about teenage sexual offenders. It will keep you up at night long after you’ve read the last page, questioning beliefs you once thought were true.

Kindle Edition: Check Amazon for Pricing Digital Only